Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Oil over snowmelt

Options
Mark Eatherton
Mark Eatherton Member Posts: 5,853
We have a potential snowmelt job where the owner wants to use oil and stone as the finished surface. We have no experience with this application of snowmelt. My concern is the oil and it potentially migrating down to the tubing and having adverse chemical interaction. Please let me know your thoughts/recommendations/experience with this.

This is from a friend/associate of mine. I've had no experience with this sort of system and thought I'd run it by the Wall to see if anyone else has had experience with it.

He's in the process of getting the MSDS sheets on the oil (non petroleum product, evidently) and I will send that information along as I get it.

Thanks in advance!

ME

There was an error rendering this rich post.

Comments

• hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,157
    Options
    What about the oil into the ground? If it is safe for the environment, it should be safe for the tube, maybe.

Possibly it's a bio product from corn or beans. Our PG solar fluid is corn based now.

Pex is a petroleum product, so once you know the make up of the "oil" the tube manufacturer should be able to assist.
    Bob "hot rod" Rohr
    trainer for Caleffi NA
    Living the hydronic dream
  • Robert O'Connor_12
    Robert O'Connor_12 Member Posts: 728
    Options
    Oil eats oil.
    Following. ...
  • Gordy
    Gordy Member Posts: 9,546
    edited March 2015
    Options
    So Mark is this finish surface what we call in Illinois chip and seal. Basically done on the country roads with lower traffic volumes.

Lay down an oil emulsion, and then spread fine chips over it. Some stays some ends up on the shoulder. Cheap resurface.