Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Boiler turning on and off intermittently, LWCO getting triggered -- why???

Options
Hi All,

I'm a newbie at steam heat but have read one of Holohan's books, so I know a little bit. I recently had a new Burnham gas fired boiler installed into my one-pipe system. Ran fine for a while until it got really cold out. When it is very cold and I guess the boiler has to work harder, the LWCO gets triggered and the boiler shuts off. It will stay off for about 15 seconds and then fire up again. It runs for about 30 seconds and then the LWCO gets triggered again. Eventually, after maybe hours of this, it stops happening and the boiler operates normally, but our house is cold in the meantime. When its malfunctioning, it seems like water is having a hard time returning to the boiler as the return pipe is cold and takes a long time to get hot.

We've had the company that installed the boiler come out three times. The last time they put some kind of chemical in the system ( I think he called it Swick?) and he said that would clean the water and might help. If that didn't work, he guessed it was a faulty LWCO. I don't know. Could it be something else going on? From reading the forums, I thought maybe dirty water but the guys insisted that it did not look bad from the sight glass. I'm hesitant to get the LWCO replaced without a second opinion. Seems kind of strange for a brand new piece of equipment to malfunction although I'm sure it happens. Anyone know of any experts in Rhode Island? No one's listed in the contractors section of this site.