Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

puchasing a new ammeter, recommendations?

Options
I've been a licensed plumber/gasfitter for quite a few years now, anyway I started back to school to tackle the ac/refrigeration end of the trade. I need to purchase an ammeter, I own a fluke multimeter model 81438 that i've had a few years. I've had no problems with it. Does anyone have a recommendation on a new ammeter?Please include a model # if possible.

Comments

• RJ_4
    RJ_4 Member Posts: 484
    Options
    meter

Amprobe  ACD-14  reads amps, volts, resistance and other features,  compact ,  the meter I would carry in my tool bag,  I would also add an Amprobe lead kit with rubber insulated leads and clips
    RJ
  • ChrisJ
    ChrisJ Member Posts: 15,672
    Options
    Meters

When it comes to digital meters I'm extremely picky. I can't stand how slow most of them are.

I use a Fluke 179 DMM and a Simpson 260 7P for most things.

I was just looking at a Fluke 381 which seems like it would be very handy in the refrigeration trade.
    Single pipe quasi-vapor system. Typical operating pressure 0.14 - 0.43 oz. EcoSteam ES-20 Advanced Control for Residential Steam boilers. Rectorseal Steamaster water treatment
  • RJ_4
    RJ_4 Member Posts: 484
    Options
    meter

The Ampobe acd 14 is made by amprobe you can get it online about $ 150.00
    RJ
  • SWEI
    SWEI Member Posts: 7,356
    Options
    Define the requirements first

Do you need to measure DC amps as well as AC using the clamp?

What is the highest current you need to measure, and in what size wire(s) would that be carried?

What is the lowest current you need to measure?

How important are voltage and resistance measurements for this meter, and as above, how high and how low?
  • BobC
    BobC Member Posts: 5,478
    Options
    Analog?