Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Noobie to solar but not to heating looking for experts

Wyld_Bill
Wyld_Bill Member Posts: 4
I am a HVAC tech with 20 years experience but I've actually never done anything with solar so I need some advice.

Ok guys so here is what I have:

Located in southern Maine-

28'x54' Ranch with a daylight basement on back side. Facing Southwest on the front side of the house. 7-12 pitch on the roof.

Three adults currently living in the house. Finished basement. 2 full bathrooms one 3/4 Bathroom.

Crown CT 35 oil boiler running 85 to 86% efficiency 90,000 BTUH. 6 heating zones and one zone for indirect domestic hot water. Zones fed by Taco 007 pumps and ARGO pump controller.

Mega-Stor horizontal 40 gallon tank under the boiler. Location- basement boiler room/laundry room.

Vermont castings Defiant woodstove 75,000 BTUH. Location- basement den center of house with a draft hood above it and a large floor grate to the main floor.

36,000 BTU 10 SEER R22 central air conditioning system. Location- AHU in attic and CU out back.

Silicon Solar (80 gallon??) two coil, two sensor locations, option for electric heat element. Solar tank never used.

Used 15 tube solar collector year unknown but older model. Needs at least two new tubes

large, deep aluminum finned copper tube hydronic air coil never used 1' copper in and out.

several different size heat exchangers

A little about myself. I am a HVAC tech. I have been in the trade for 20 years but have never installed a single solar system and honestly don't know a lot about them when you get into the real techy stuff.