To get email notification when someone adds to a thread you're following, click on the star in the thread's header and it will turn yellow; click again to turn it off. To edit your profile, click on the gear.
The Wall has a powerful search engine that will go all the way back to 2002. Use "quotation marks" around multiple-word searches. RIGHT-CLICK on the results and choose Open Link In New Window so you'll be able to get back to your results. Happy searching!
In fairness to all, we don't discuss pricing on the Wall. Thanks for your cooperation.

New Thermostat really improved my steam indoor comfort level

rrgrrg Posts: 35Member
UPDATE: I have achieved better results. (See my newest post.)

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Folks,

This is a second post for steam only. My other post just like this was about graphing indoor temps.



I wanted to mention to the "Strictly Steam" how well my new thermostat really improved my indoor temps.



Utica PEG-112AS Steam 750mv system is connected to the tstat via the two wire connection at W & RC.



One pipe steam.

Pilot light with thermopile sensor.



I have collected data to show how well it works.



1st pic: Before on my 18yr old LUX 7 day programmable shows one day, 24hr house temps. Look at those temp swings. In the old days it was tradition to over shoot the temp setting and let it settle down below the set value a few degrees than call for heat.



2nd pic: After is one day with the new Honeywell TH8110U1003 set at 68 degrees with Adaptive Intelligent Recovery option.



NOTE: Nothing else was touched in the before and after graph except the tstat replacement. So this is what I experienced, YMMV.



3rd pic: Here's a pic of my setup with the HONEYWELL TH8110U1003, Netatmo weather indoor sensor and an old Radio shack thermometer that reads degrees to a decimal. like 68.5 which the tstat does not show but the graph does.
JPG
JPG
temperature.JPG
0B
JPG
JPG
newtsat2.JPG
0B
JPG
JPG
DSC03700.JPG
0B
· ·

Comments

  • MarkSMarkS Posts: 463Member ✭✭✭
    Not bad

    What do you have the "First stage heat cycle rate" function 240 (aka CPH) set at?



    I recently started running my outdoor reset controls off of the same model thermostat instead of individual temperature sensors, just to see how the two compared. The temperature swings aren't quite as tight as running from sensors, but there hasn't been a perceptible change in comfort level. I have function 240 set at 2. Here's a chart from last weekend.
    JPG
    JPG
    IndoorTemperatureThermostatContol20140209.JPG
    0B
    Links: EcoSteam | A Steam Odyssey | Odyssey 2 | Odyssey 2014 | A Steam Enthusiast's Outdoor Reset Control
    Royersford PA | 1890 one-pipe steam system | 3009 sf | 3 floors | 14 radiators | Utica SFE boiler
    Midco LNB-250 Modulating Gas Burner | EcoSteam modulating controls | 70 to 300 MBH |
    607 sf EDR connected load | Operating pressure: 0.5 oz | 4 mains, 135 ft | All Gorton vents
    · ·
  • rrgrrg Posts: 35Member
    edited February 2014
    Setup functions

    I'm still learning what everything means or does but I looked up mine set at:

    "Setup Function 0240 = 1 Steam or gravity system".



    I have the programmable option set to 68 degrees at all times as I experiment and learn how this work .



    I haven't started using a night time setback yet.

    I will experiment with 1 to 2 degrees later.



    What temperature are you holding at in the day time, looks like 67deg ?
    Post edited by rrg on
    · ·
  • MarkSMarkS Posts: 463Member ✭✭✭
    67

    Yes, 67 degrees. The sensors read a bit lower because, in addition to being in different rooms, they're mounted 24-36" below the thermostat.



    The manual doesn't say you can set function 240 to 2, but it can be done. A number of people here have seen good results going from 1 to 2 CPH.
    Links: EcoSteam | A Steam Odyssey | Odyssey 2 | Odyssey 2014 | A Steam Enthusiast's Outdoor Reset Control
    Royersford PA | 1890 one-pipe steam system | 3009 sf | 3 floors | 14 radiators | Utica SFE boiler
    Midco LNB-250 Modulating Gas Burner | EcoSteam modulating controls | 70 to 300 MBH |
    607 sf EDR connected load | Operating pressure: 0.5 oz | 4 mains, 135 ft | All Gorton vents
    · ·
  • rrgrrg Posts: 35Member
    edited February 2014
    Good info

    I set it to two by your recommendation.



    I'm curious to see if my chart can get any better.



    Thanks.
    Post edited by rrg on
    · ·
  • MarkSMarkS Posts: 463Member ✭✭✭
    Plot

    your data for a couple of days at 2 CPH and another couple at 1 CPH, see which works best for you. Let us know how it works out.
    Links: EcoSteam | A Steam Odyssey | Odyssey 2 | Odyssey 2014 | A Steam Enthusiast's Outdoor Reset Control
    Royersford PA | 1890 one-pipe steam system | 3009 sf | 3 floors | 14 radiators | Utica SFE boiler
    Midco LNB-250 Modulating Gas Burner | EcoSteam modulating controls | 70 to 300 MBH |
    607 sf EDR connected load | Operating pressure: 0.5 oz | 4 mains, 135 ft | All Gorton vents
    · ·
  • rrgrrg Posts: 35Member
    edited February 2014
    One day results with 1 cph and 2 cph

    I made the cycle per hour change yesterday and the data looks better.



    The change in temperature is literally less than a degree on average.



    I will track it further to see how it pans out.



    Great recommendation MarkS.



    It really helps looking at the data to indicate there are better results.
    jpg
    jpg
    1tstat.jpg
    0B
    Post edited by rrg on
    · ·
  • Mark NMark N Posts: 905Member ✭✭✭
    edited February 2014
    Temp Chart

    Is your temp chart for the room with the thermostat? Have you ever tried charting different rooms? If possible make a chart for the room with the rad that is the farthest from the boiler. Chris J made a switch to 2CPH earlier in the year. I tried 2 CPH a few years ago and wash"t satisfied with the results. With my FocusPro 5000 I would just start getting steam to the rads and the thermostat would turn off the boiler. Also time how long it takes to get steam to the end of your mains and check how long it takes to get steam to the furthest rad and compare to the how long the boiler is on at 2 CPH.
    Post edited by Mark N on
    · ·
  • rrgrrg Posts: 35Member
    edited February 2014
    Good idea

    I can move the sensor to other rooms and see what happens.



    So, with your comments I ran upstairs on the next cycle and felt the furthest radiator and it did feel cool to the touch. The others did heat.
    Post edited by rrg on
    · ·
  • Mark NMark N Posts: 905Member ✭✭✭
    System Timing

    The rad in my upstairs bathroom is the furthest from the boiler. The runout for this rad is located near the end of a 24 ft main. The runout is about 8ft long and the riser up to the bathroom another 8ft. The fastest I've timed getting steam to this rad is 9 minutes. At 2 CPH my boiler would only run 12 to 13 minutes. Therefore I would only get a few minutes worth of steam to that rad.
    · ·
Sign In or Register to comment.

Welcome

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!