Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

is my hot water loop wrong?

Options
bic2
bic2 Member Posts: 23
hey all-

posted in the general forum about issues with the hot water loop coming off my steam system to heat the basement. got help and figured out that it might not be set up correctly. thought posting here might be more helpful in trying to sort it all out.

i'm a total newbie, so my question is very simple (or stupid?). how do i tell if it's set up correctly?

what i can tell you:

there is a heat exchanger, the water isn't coming straight out of the boiler.

it's a single loop with its own thermostat

there's a TACO 007-F5 pumping water from the boiler to the heat exchanger.

there's a TACO 007-F4-7 just upstream of the heat exchanger on the return side of the loop

when the thermostat calls for heat, the pump and the boiler kick on

the loop gets hot and the basement warms up

the radiators upstairs start to get hot

Comments

• bic2
    Options
    hello all -- want to ping back on this post from last winter. still trying to sort out the hot water loop off of my steam boiler. Any input is MUCH appreciated!
  • Rich_49
    Rich_49 Member Posts: 2,766
    Options
    Pictures please
    You didn't get what you didn't pay for and it will never be what you thought it would .
    Langans Plumbing & Heating LLC
    732-751-1560
    Serving most of New Jersey, Eastern Pa .
    Consultation, Design & Installation anywhere
    Rich McGrath 732-581-3833
  • DanHolohan
    DanHolohan Member, Moderator, Administrator Posts: 16,526
    Options
    Is the upstairs thermost calling for heat while the downstairs zone is running?
    Retired and loving it.
  • bic2
    Options
    here is a pic that hopefully shows a little. i can send more if it helps.