Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

On the right track? (Calculations)

Im fairly new to this so I'm learning as I go. I have a radiant heat system upstairs thats using 1/2" pex at 8" apart. I've calculated my heat loss to be around 5500 BTU/hr.

GPM = 5500/10,000 = .55

Head loss = 200ft loop...2*.51 = 1.02

Does this seam right so far?

If I had 3 200ft loops in a zone, would I multiply the head loss by each loop?

How do I know what my supply temperature should be?

Comments

• Zman
    Zman Member Posts: 7,561
    edited September 2013
    Constants

Katie,

Is your tubing in a slab?

Where did you get your constants?

For multiple loops, your head will remain the same. The GPM 's get added together.

I would suggest reading Modern Hydronic Heating by Siegenthaler.

You will like it, a lot!

Carl
    "If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough"
    Albert Einstein
  • Gordy
    Gordy Member Posts: 9,546
    edited September 2013
    Constants

I see you are using .51 feet of head per 100' of 1/2" pex at .5 gpm flow rate.

Head is the friction of the fluid moving through the pipe the circulator has to over come at a given flow rate. So the loop, or circuit with the highest head is all you need to worry about.

So in your case IF all three loops require .55 gpm your circulator would need to be sized to move 1.65 gpm (.55 gpm x 3 loops) at 1.02 feet of head at the distribution manifold for the three loops.

Now with all this in mind you also have to look at the total system. Your referring to part of it.
  • Zman

OK,

I see where the 10,000 came from, 500*20. The problem with that approach is that your radiant panel (tubing assembly) has to be able to give off that much energy.