Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Radiant Floor Help

We just purchased a home in which we are going to be replacing EVERY bit of flooring. The forced air furnace is working, but could use replacement as well. We've always wanted to have a radiant floor heating system and figured this might be the time to do it.

I've been looking at systems using Warmboard and Raupanel, but they seem awful expensive for a bit of convenience.

My question is, if you were trying to keep costs down and labor time/costs were not a factor, what solution would you be looking at? Could a guy just lay down 5/8" board, router his own grooves and install some kind of plate system if he had the time to put in?

Obviously, I'm completely new to this so you can't hurt my feelings. Need some honest advice here.

Comments

• SWEI
    SWEI Member Posts: 7,356
    What kind of floor?

Slab on grade, underlayment on joists, something else?
  • dotdotdot
    dotdotdot Member Posts: 4
    My bad

Underlayment on joists. This is a two story home with an unfinished basement. We're not going to do anything with the basement right now, but will size boiler large enough for down the road when we do.. 4 bed, 2.5 bath at 2100 sq.ft. Current flooring is carpet, laminate wood and vinyl. We will be going to carpet, hardwood and tile.
  • SWEI
    How much build-up can you tolerate?

It's really best to insulate underneath.  If you can insulate the 1st floor joists from the basement with wet-spray cellulose I'd go ahead and use track with plywood the way most manufacturers show in their photos.  Foil-faced polyiso paired with plates might be an option for the 2nd floor.  Roth panel works but is pricey.

Without plates or a metal-clad panel, you're looking at a lot more tubing for a given water temp.
  • dotdotdot
    I can tolerate some