Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

White Smoke after shutdown

CJ7guy
CJ7guy Member Posts: 2
Hey guys! I've got a question for you about a clients furnace. I'm a licensed oil burner tech that works for a company that hires heating vendors to repair/replace heating systems for low income and elderly people. We helped replace an oil fired furnace about 3 years ago to a family and up until this past year it worked fine. Its an Olsen lowboy with a beckett burner. The client called us to complain that occasionally he was getting smoke/ fumes in the basement and the home. Someone told him the heat exchanger was cracked.

We ended up having his oil vendor check it out and he couldn't find a problem. About a week later we got another complaint from the HO about the same issue. This time we had the oil vendor, the company that installed the furnace, and the Olsen rep at the home....No problem was found. Third complaint about the same issue came in. We had a different vendor check it out and he replaced the pump (because he said the solenoid was intermittently opening and closing), fuel filter, oil line (he said pin hole leak), added a check valve, and found a draft issue (he made repairs to the chimney).

I just got involved in this case recently and had to inspect it to verify the parts were installed. I went there and fired the system. I did a combustion test with a digital analyzer before the fan came on and after the fan came on to verify there was no heat exchanger leakage (which there wasn't). I shut the switch off to remove my jumpers, turn the switch back on (the fan came back on) and all of a sudden white smoke starts billowing out from the burner! I was glad it did it when I was there because no one else has actually been there when its happened.