Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

sand for heat tranfer media?

pipeking
pipeking Member Posts: 252
 a buddy of mine is building his home and it's a log cabin, but huge. anyway, he is always asking for advice, but never want help with the labor. he usually finds my insight really helpful and takes it, but he came up with the idea of using sand to enhance the heat transfer of his sleeper radiant system. it kind of sounds like a good idea, but i never heard of it, has any of u guys done this?

Comments

• Jean-David Beyer
    Jean-David Beyer Member Posts: 2,666
    using sand to enhance the heat transfer of his sleeper radiant system

I am not a heating professional, but it sounds like a terrible idea to me. Perhaps a little better than styrofoam as a heat transfer medium, but not lots better.

Why not use aluminium heat transfer plates instead. Instead of insulating the tubing from the bottom of the floor with air or sand, the heat would be conducted directly to the wood of the floor.

My spell-checker seems to be using a British dictionary. When I write color and aluminum, they are flagged, but colour and aluminium go right through.
  • Gordy
    Gordy Member Posts: 9,546
    edited March 2013
    Bad idea

Lots of people come here with that idea as a good one.

Not only is sand a better insulator than a conductor. Think air pockets between sand particles. It also will harbor insects especially ants. Not only brought in with the sand but on site as well.

Next time your at a beach and the sand is so hot you can't hardly walk on it not far down is relief a few inches at most.