Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Main Vent

MikeyG
MikeyG Member Posts: 10
Hi --

I am not a professional but have read both of Dan's books on steam heating.  The attached pics are the main vent on my very small 1 floor -- 4 rad heating system.  It is at the point where the dry return starts to turn downward and appears to be done the way Dan says it shouldn't be -- at the T fitting -- but is on a long nipple.  Is this something I need to change?  (of course, I'd not so this myself but call a qualified steam heating person)  Should it be moved back 15- 18 inches back along that return pipe?  I cannot tell whether that main vent (Hoffman 4A) is even working any longer.  Advice please.  Thanks in advance.

MikeyG

Comments

• kcopp
    kcopp Member Posts: 4,419
    technically ....

you are correct. But to pull that apart for  15 inches is not needed. If you add a couple of 90's and a new vent you will be fine.
  • MikeyG
    Thanks but a question ...

Thanks for your response.  So, if you don't mind, please explain how these 90 degree elbows would be positioned on the existing tee.  Thanks again .
  • BobC
    BobC Member Posts: 5,476
    Like this

This shows how i handled a similar situation on my system, not pretty but it works. Make sure the piping allows any water to flow back to the steam main and return.

Your main vent looks much to small, replace it with something that has more venting capacity.

Bob
    Smith G8-3 with EZ Gas @ 90,000 BTU, Single pipe steam
    Vaporstat with a 12oz cut-out and 4oz cut-in
    3PSI gauge
  • MikeyG
    Type of pipe to use?

Just so I know whether the plumber I hire knows what he is doing, should he be using black steel pipe for the main vent line and elbows you describe?  If not, what should be used?  Thanks again!
  • Rod
    Rod Posts: 2,067
    edited April 2012