Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Riello burner with New Yorker boiler?

HotShotMedic
HotShotMedic Member Posts: 3
Hi guys, great forum and lots of great info!

I recently had some work done to my oil/hot water furnace including a cleaning and new circulating pump installed. While the tech was here he told me about riello burners and some of the benefits including reliability and effiency. There is a Beckett burner on the furnace now which every year seems to need repair/servicing of some kind. (I'm no expert on this stuff but have replaced a few nozzles in my time and a coupling a few years ago(plastic!?! Really!?!)). Would a riello burner be a good choice for this boiler which is about 15 years old? Pros/cons/cautions? He quoted me $300 installed for a refurb'd unit and warranties his work for 6 months. I can follow up this post with specs and pics soon if it would help. Thanks for any info!

Comments

• STEVEusaPA
    STEVEusaPA Member Posts: 6,506
    My thoughts...

First....you're not suppose to discuss pricing....

1. How efficient is your current system running? Was an efficiency test performed? What are the numbers?

2. If yes to #1, what efficiency is he promising you with the new Riello?

3. What's the model # on the New Yorker, what Beckett Burner is in the Boiler, and what model # Riello is he offering to install?

4.  The Beckett isnt unreliable.  Nozzles have nothing to do with the burner, and a coupling fails for the same reasons on any burner.

5.  My guess, he has a Riello sitting around (refurbished by who?), pulled out of a conversion job, or whatever, and he's looking to make some more money off of you.

Get us the info in #3, and we can advise you further.