Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Pex holes in joists

Is it best to run only one 1/2" pex per joist hole, or is it OK to run 2, provided the hole is bored large enough & each tube is isolated to prevent expansion/chafing noise?

Thanks

Comments

• Jean-David Beyer
    Jean-David Beyer Member Posts: 2,666
    I am not a structural engineer...

but I would worry about making holes too large in joists. I do not know what "too large" is, but I am confident running an air duct through one is too large. A hole for one BX cable may be OK, or a piece of 1/2 inch, or maybe 3/4 ich copper or PEX must be OK, but there must be some point at which making holes weakens it too much.
  • icesailor
    icesailor Member Posts: 7,265
    Holes:

I'm not an engineer but I've always been cautious about weakening a structure.

I've always liveb by "The Rules of Thirds". You can't drill a hole more than a third of the thickness of a joist in the middle third of the joist.

If you have a 12' span, and the joist is a full 12", you can drill a full 4" hole in the first and last 4'.

There is a side to this that I have discussed with inspectors. If the span requires say a 2X 10 joist spanning 12', the above rules apply. Or, if you are installing and you see a 12' span with 2X10's, and you see a 8' span, the 8' joist could theoretically be a 2x16 if you understand what I am saying. Therefore, you could drill holes in a larger portion of the joist following the "rules".