Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Pipes Banging/Water & Oil Spurting from Radiator Valves

<span><span>Had a new boiler installed last March.  I have had to call the installer back repeatedly to drain the system.

Radiators are holding water, pipes are banging and there is water/oil spurting out of the valves.

I have read that the pipes can cause this issue, so I am wondering if you can take a look at what my installer did. 

The new boiler is a Smith Cast Iron Series 8 Boiler.

</span></span>

Comments

• HenryT
    HenryT Member Posts: 128
    Not a professional

Let me state that I am not a professional but a long time lurker on this great forum. From the initial looks, it seems as if your header is too low. Your riser pipes off the radiator could be longer and should extend at least 25" from the boiler water level.
  • STEAM DOCTOR
    STEAM DOCTOR Member Posts: 1,953
    OUCH

I am half way out the door so I have to keep it short. Your near boiler piping in HORRENDOUS. You really deserve a refund. This one is one for the the record books (or maybe "The steamfitters book of jokes")
  • Big-Al_2
    Big-Al_2 Member Posts: 263
    edited November 2010
    Header Wrong

Yes, the header is definitely wrong.  The pipe coming up out of the top of the boiler should go straight up, at least 24" above the normal water line.  It should then go straight across horizontally to a downward flowing vertical pipe (equalizer) and drop back down into the boiler below the water line.  Somewhere in the middle of the horizontal part of that header, there should be a tee and a vertical pipe to carry the steam upward to the main.