Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Adding A/C in 1900 condo building w/o existing A/C

Dear Professor,
I am a renovation coach helping clients manage their home renovation projects. I have a client that is considering buying a 2nd fl, 3 BR, 1700 sqft condo, in a circa 1915, 3 or 4 level building with no A/C. The heating system is hot water baseboard. The client would like A/C in her unit.
Can you offer an efficient, reliable and affordable option to installing A/C in this unit? I welcome your insight and thanks! Martha
FYI Wonderful Ellen Rohr at barebonesbiz.com highly recommended I contact the experts at "The Wall"!

Comments

• Empire_2
    Empire_2 Member Posts: 2,343
    Hello, Martha?:

Just reading your post, and I was thinking about the "Affordable" Inquire.... Well I guess there are a wide vairiety of possibilities availiable , but the only thing you will run into is the equipment and labor cost which I can almost predict would not make you comfortable.

Mitsubishi sell's the "City Multi", which is a mini-split systen with only a capacity of aprox, 2.5 tons A/C. You could utalize duct work, but depenging on the lay out/ accesibility and what is esthicalling pleasing to the owners eye.

Bare in mind this dwelling is probably very beautiful and I'm sure they would like to keep the older nestalgic vibe, but cost can play a critical kink in design, especially if they want the best, or just make it work type of mentality........

If you can, try to get a local contractor and see what happens. I personally think in the long run you would be suprised.